Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Walking on Trampolines

by Frances Whiting
published: Gallery Books, 2015 (originally 2013)
pages: 368

When Lulu meets Annabelle, she is bewitched.  They quickly become the best of friends, sharing secrets and a language that no one else knows.  But when the unthinkable happens, they lose track of each other.  Lulu has to come to terms with her life and move on, but it doesn't happen easily or over night.  Lulu takes a journey to find herself and her purpose, amid new beginnings and unexpected endings. 

I love the title of the book, Walking on Trampolines.  It's not explained at all in the book, like some title would be; it's not even mentioned.  But it describes everything this book is about, everything that Lulu struggles with, every decision, every moment in her life.  Life is hard and sometimes you get thrown off, become unstable, just like walking on a trampoline.

The book delivers rich characters that made me hate them and love them at the same time.  There were characters that had no clue what they were doing, characters that were very self aware, and characters that were slightly naive.  This book was really about Lulu's journey into acceptance and happiness, but it proves that everyone you meet has some affect on you regardless of how long you know them.

Duncan is my favorite character in this book.  He has a great personally: he's flamboyant, boisterous and tender to those he loves.  He's also very aware that he is an asshole.  He likes to meddle and does his best to help Lulu when she comes to work for him.  He is a force of nature in Lulu's life and helps her discover happiness. 

The characters in this book are the reason people should read it.  The plot seems to be slightly trivial next to the amazing amount of lively and developed characters you come across in these pages.

Frances Whiting has the ability to create characters that feel so real.  I feel as though I've known them for a long time.  I will be waiting more from Whiting in the future! 

Stars: 3.5/5


"A tender exploration of friendship, families, and first love."
      --Liane Moriarty, author of What Alice Forgot

"Whiting has crafted a compelling and emotional journey... Fans of Liane Moriarty, Sarah Dessen, and Jennifer Close will adore Whiting's heart wrenchingly honest and utterly earnest tale of female friendship, unbreakable bonds, and learning to let go."
     --Booklist, starred review

"Whiting's novel, reminiscent of novels by Kristin Hannah, evokes all the emotions the best books should: joy, sadness and the truth that life is messy, yet full of love."
     --RT Book Reviews

A Full House Challenge 2015 Book!

No comments:

Post a Comment